2017 RCCU #1 Service Awards
2017 RCCU#1 Service Awards
2017 Retirees

The 31st Annual Richland County Community Unit School District No. 1 Service and Recognition Awards Banquet was held on Tuesday, April 18, 2017, at the Olde Tyme Steakhaus in Olney, IL.  The Service and Recognition Awards Banquet was hosted by the Richland County Board of Education.

The purpose of the banquet is to honor employees who are retiring and those who have been employed within the District for 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, and 30 years.  Handcrafted solid cherry wooden school bells and golden passes were awarded to this year’s retirees.   Certificates were awarded to other honored recipients.

The highlight of this year’s event was the retirement of seven (7) Richland County School District employees:  Mary Brooks, Patti Davis, Diana Hagan, Joyce Michels, Diane Muhs, Laurie Waxler, and Cathy Wilson.  Ben Anderson, Richland County School District Board President, was also recognized as he will complete his service to the Board of Education effective April 20, 2017.  Mr. Anderson served on the board for 20 years, 10 years as Vice President and 8 years as President.

The evening opened with a welcome from Superintendent of Schools, Larry Bussard. 

Board member Leon Redman gave the invocation. 

Ben Anderson, President of the Board of Education, began the awards portion of the evening with a thank you to employees on behalf of the board of education.    After Mr. Anderson’s comments each honoree was introduced by Richland County School District Administrators and presented with certificates and awards by board members. 

The evening closed with remarks by retirees and Assistant Superintendent, Chris Simpson. 

Following is a list of the employees honored at this years’ event.



Mary Brooks
Patti Davis
Diana Hagan
Joyce Michels
Diane Muhs
Laurie Waxler
Cathy Wilson

25 years

Dixie Baker
Julie Bettis
Jackie Madden
Lisa Pampe
Terry Puckett
Kathi Walker
Brenda Washburn

20 years

Charissa Burgener
Julie Clodfelter
June Doss
Dana Hout
Lori Lance
Darlene Miller
Janice Pampe
Lori Rubenacker
Julie Rusk
Julie Schmucker
Betty Stivers
Jamie Tyler
Jamie VanDyke
Terry Whiting

 15 years

Tami Doris
Jennifer Fritchley
Shirley Hanna
Susan Haussy
Matt Powell

 10 years

David Angle
Gwyne Doll
Cris Edwards
Rob Kirby
Theresa Marriott
Amy McVicker
Alicia Muffler
Kristy Ochs
Randy Reeves
Lindsay Ridgely
Tracey Rodgers
Alexis Shawver
Camille Stephens
Sarah Vaal
Christina VanMatre
Kerrie Weidner
inette Westall

 5 years

Sherye Brown
Lonnie Doan
Brenda Dunahee
Brittania Kocher
Brianne Kuenstler
Amanda Lewis
Brandi Mitchell
Samantha Phillippe
Megan Tennis
Ruth Totten
Aimee Volk