East Richland Community Unit #1 has a rich history of excellence in education.  ERCU#1 currently consists of three state of the art facilities - East Richland Elementary School, East Richland Middle School, and East Richland High School.  The district serves the majority of Richland County as well as portions of Wayne and Jasper Counties for a total of 256 square miles.  

A seven member Board of Education sets policy for the district, approves the budget/expenditures, hires the Superintendent, and sets the direction for the district.  At ERCU #1 we have Board members that represent the community and understand that excellent schools are important for students, but also for the growth of a community.

We have eight administrators, 150 teachers, and 135 support staff.  These people are essential to the success of the district.  Currently, we have 2,150 students.  these students are the best and they represent the hope and future for this community and this country!